Bauchi NUJ Inaugurates Electoral C’ttee

The Bauchi State Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) on Tuesday inaugurated a 7-member Electoral Committee to organize a free, fair and credible election into the 7 offices of the State Working Committee (SWC).

While inaugurating the Committee at the Conference Hall of the NUJ Press Center, Bauchi, the Chairman Comrade Umar Sa’idu charged members of the Committee to justify the confidence reposed on them and should not be distracted by any intimidation from any quarters.

“As you are aware that during the last Congress your names were mentioned, endorsed and approved by the National Secretariat to prepare for the election of new Executives of the State Council. Congress must have seen your commitment, selfless service and experience in you, especially in the activities of the Union. Therefore you must not take the nomination for granted; rather you should justify the confidence reposed
in you.

“I have the belief that members of the Electoral Committee will write your names in gold by conducting the most peaceful, free and fair NUJ elections in the state. Your Committee is independent of the State Council as you are answerable to the National Secretariat, but where necessary, you can liaise with the State Council to ensure a free and fair election.

“| have absolute confidence that you have the capacity to conduct this assignment,” he said.

The Chairman said the committee has 21 days within which to conduct the election and organise the swearing-in of the new Executive members.

In her acceptance speech on behalf of other members, the Chairperson of the Committee, Bulak Afsa thanked the Council for finding them worthy of selection to perform the onerous task of conducting elections.

Bulak Afsa then assured that the members of the Committee will work assiduously in accordance with the NUJ Constitution and the guidelines for the conduct of the elections.

Members of the Committee are: Bulak Afsa, NTA Chapel, Chairperson; Ishola Michael Adeyemi, Correspondents Chapel; Haruna Yusuf, BRC Chapel; Adamu Muhammad Gabi, Globe FM Chapel; Nasiru Bala, Information Chapel; Firdausi Ibrahim Bakondi, Albarka FM Chapel and Aliyu Sambo of BATV Chapel Who is the Secretary.

Leave a Reply